Catching up and Crochet Mood Blanket 2014

Hi all!

This year is off to a great start. I am a week into my very first practical training regarding the practical nurse degree that I am in the middle of. More on that a little later. 🙂

We celebrate Christmas pretty much the same way everybody else in Finland does. We prepare all of the food ourselves (I think it’s close to a sacrilege to eat store bought!). I make potato and rutabaga casseroles (liver and carrot casseroles are also traditional Xmas food, but liver casserole is part of our everyday, and nobody in our family really likes carrot casserole), rosolli salad with hard-boiled eggs and whipped cream, gravlax, herring, mustard and rice porridge. My man J is the master at preparing the ham.

Herring and mustard from xmas 2012Christmas tree get its decorations by the 23rd, at the latest and this year was no exception. Usually the elves have snuck in one present for each kid the previous night (to keep the kids from bouncing off the walls waiting for Santa 🙂 ). We start the day with rice porridge with cinnamon, sugar and milk. Then it’s TV time, the day is packed with shows that air every year and cannot ever be missed! 😀 After Xmas sauna and dinner, it’s Santa time! There have been times that we have been in the sauna and he has just left the presents under the tree, but this year we were lucky enough to be home and the man himself had also a few minutes to spare before heading to his next destination. 🙂 Judging by the pressie piles, the little ones had been good all year! The rest of the evening is spent in PJ’s, playing with the whole family, eating some more, burning candles and just chilling.

On Christmas day we headed first to my parents’ house along with my three siblings and their families, and later to my in-laws.

New year’s was also spent @home making tortillas, casting the predictive tins, shooting fireworks. I was the first to go to bed, well before midnight (and it wasn’t the first time, either!) 🙂

My predictive tinI hope this tin means that I get to work with old people, and not become one myself just yet!

So after the luxury of three week holiday, it was time to get back into routine. The kids went back to kindergarten and were greeted with very sad news of one of their teacher’s tragic and untimely passing during the holiday. 😦 They had a priest come and talk to the kids about it and answer any questions they had. I don’t think neither of mine really understood the real deal, though.

On a happier note, hubby went back to work as usual and I started my six week long practical training. I’m at an retirement home, taking care of those living in there. It’s very versatile and rewarding. It’s awesome to think that I can be a part of someone’s everyday life as it’s coming to an end. During the first week I mostly just got to know the people there, getting familiar with everyone’s names, routines and likings. I’ve done morning and evening shifts for now, and by the end of the week I had even gotten to deal with a few residents by myself. 🙂 The best part of it all is noticing them getting to know me, and asking for my help. I think that shows some trust, and I am privileged to be worthy of that trust. I am looking forward to the next five weeks, the last of which I’ll be giving my examination, which I’ll be graded on. Exciting!

I’m taking part in the Crochet Mood Blanket 2014! It’s a granny square project that goes on on Instagram (#crochetmoodblanket2014) and Facebook (Crochet Mood Blanket 2014 group). So far there are almost 2,500 members on the FB group, and over 6,000 pictures under the hashtag on Instagram!

The idea is to make a granny square each day (or one a week) of the color(s) that best suit your mood on that day. Then at the end of the year (or sooner if one is using the join-as-you-go method 😀 ) the squares are sewn together (in a chronologic order) and ta-dah! you I have a mood blanket! At first I planned to make one square a week, but after the first day I was literally hooked and have been going at square-a-day pace. It’s so addictive! And to have a clear goal and timeline – as well as all of the support of both of the communities – makes it easy-peasy to actually finish this project.

A few grannies A few more granniesI chose “Queen Anne’s lace” from Jan Eaton’s book “200 crochet blocks” as my pattern. At this point I think I’ll be doing all of my squares the same, but that might change over the course of the year 🙂 I’m using Novita’s Wool/Nalle as my yarn, and with a 4 mm hook, my squares are approximately 15 cm by 15 cm in size. I’m doing 10 in a row, and will be joining them with a simple sc join (with white). The blanket’s gonna be HUUUUGE! I might do one that’s 10 blocks wide and 20 blocks high, and then do something else with the rest of the squares. I might not.

Of course I wanted to include my Travelers Notebook in this as well, so I’m taking notes of the colors I’m using, along with the reasons why I chose those colors. It will be fun to look back at it in the future. 🙂

Mood Blanket notesAll in all, I welcome the year 2014 with open arms and have a feeling that it’s gonna be great.

3 thoughts on “Catching up and Crochet Mood Blanket 2014

  1. Bright Tuesday

    This is the first I have heard of a Crochet Mood blanket — I love the idea! Sounds like a great way to use up leftover yarn, too. I don’t usually like making large blankets (they take too long!), but I think I can do a granny square a week. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Knitting Liisa Post author

      You should definitely join! Great stadh buster, and even greater inspiration to see everybody else’s work. 🙂

      Reply
  2. jutzq

    Moikka! Oon jo jonkin aikaa selaillu sun blogia silloin tällöin ja tahdon kiittää antamastasi inspiraatiosta ja ohjeista! Innostuin perustamaan itellenikin “käsityöblogin”, ja olis mukavaa jos vilkaisisit jospa vaikka tykkäisit mun blogista yhtä paljon kun mä sun!♥ http://silmukoitua.blogspot.fi/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

